Infections form cycles too.

Circadian rhythms obviously form a repetitive cycle that repeats daily.  Infections form cycles too, only they have a longer period, and hopefully they loop around just once; for example, when a host is infected, the host starts from a position of comfort, gets sick, and then recovers, essentially returning to its original health.  I realize, that vertebrates have an adaptive immune response and that we are a different after an infection, but mostly, we are still the same person.  If it makes sense to plot cyclical circadian data on a disk, it is worth trying this with data that completes a single cycle.   The graph below starts at about 11 o:clock and progresses counter clockwise around the disk.  It plots a mouse malaria infection with Plasmodium chabaudi, looking mostly at data gathered through flow cytometry.  Eight parameters are plotted here, moving from the outside of the disk to the inside:  NK cells, parasite load, granulocytes, CD8 T cells, red blood cells lost, reticulocytes, macrophages and finally gamma delta T cells.  The infection every day for 25 days.

IMG_1512 (1).jpgThis is a colored sandstone print that I had made at Shapeways and it measures about 3.5 cm in diameter.  I use this to show people cyclical nature of infections when I’m in my office or if I remember to carry it around in my pocket.  If it were 40 years ago I would be comfortable wearing it as a pendant (maybe).  To show the looping nature of the data in a talk, I use the movie shown below.  To make this I exported an stl from Autocad and imported it into Cheetah3D, where I colored, rotated and rendered the model.

 

Leave a Reply

